Osti Music Until the Scars - Mackey - Concert Band - Gr. 4.5

Departments > Print > Concert Band > Concert Band > Education Guide 2019 > Osti Music > Until the Scars - Mackey - Concert Band - Gr. 4.5
SKU: # 714681
Model: #


Your Price: $235.00 CDN


Add to Cart


Composer: John Mackey
Format: Score and Parts
Instrumentation: Concert Band
Level: 4.5

Until the Scars is an adaptation of the first movement of Wine-Dark Sea: Symphony for Band, a work based on the ancient story of "The Odyssey" by Homer.

After ten years of bloody siege, the Trojan War was won because of Odysseus' gambit: A horse full of soldiers, disguised as an offering. The people of Troy took it in as a trophy, and were slaughtered. Odysseus gave the Greeks victory, and they left the alien shores for home. But Odysseus' journey would take as long as the war itself. Homer called the ocean on which Odysseus sailed a wine-dark sea, and for the Greek king it was as murky and disorienting as its name; he would not find his way across it without first losing himself. In this section of the story, Odysseus, having filled his ship with the spoils of war, leaves for home, but he carried another, more dangerous, cargo: Pride. This movement opens with his triumphal march, and continues as he and his crew maraud through every port of call on their way home.
Duration: 4:00
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!
Sound Sample
Press play to listen: