G. Henle Verlag Piano Trios - Brahms /Herttrich /Theopold - Piano/Violin/Cello - Parts Set

Departments > Print Music > Orchestral Strings > Chamber Ensembles > Piano Trios > G. Henle Verlag > Piano Trios - Brahms /Herttrich /Theopold - Piano/Violin/Cello - Parts Set
  Add to Wish List
SKU: # 127777
Model: #


Your Price: $130.00 CDN


 Add to Cart


Composer: Johannes Brahms
Editor: Ernst Herttrich
Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold
Format: Parts Set
Instrumentation: Piano Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello)

Piano trios belong among the great genres of Classical chamber music, and Brahms , too, turned his attention to this genre early on. He wrote his opus 8 in fall and winter 1853/54, thus at the age of 20. The two other piano trios were created 28 years later, namely op. 87 in C major, and 32 years later, op. 101 in c minor. Brahms was working on another Trio, in E flat major, at the same time that he was working on the C major Trio; however, it seems to have been destroyed. He returned to his first piano trio in 1889 and revised it so thoroughly that he wrote to Clara Schumann: I have re-written my B major trio. The Henle Urtext edition reproduces the second version of the Trio op. 8 (published in 1891) first, then follows this up with a reprint of the first version in its Appendix.


  • Trio (final version) B major op. 8
  • Trio C major op. 87
  • Trio c minor op. 101
  • Appendix: Trio (early version) B major op. 8
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!