G. Henle Verlag Clarinet Sonata op. 120 - Brahms /Voss /Behr /Zimmermann - Viola/Piano - Book

Departments > Print > Orchestral Strings > Viola > Composer Collection > G. Henle Verlag > Clarinet Sonata op. 120 - Brahms /Voss /Behr /Zimmermann - Viola/Piano - Book
SKU: # 127763
Model: #


Your Price: $51.50 CDN


Add to Cart


Composer: Johannes Brahms
Editors: Egon Voss, Johannes Behr
Piano Fingering: Klaus Schilde
Viola Bowing/Fingering: Tabea Zimmermann
Format: Softcover
Instrumentation: Viola and Piano

We owe a debt of gratitude to the clarinettist Richard Muhlfeld for making the elderly Brahms so interested in his instrument. In the 1890s the composer wrote the Trio op. 114, the Quintet op. 115 and the Sonatas op. 120 - three gems in the clarinet chamber music repertoire. Brahms also provided a part for viola as an alternative to the clarinet. The revision of this edition of the viola version of opus 120 is based on the musical text of the Henle New Brahms Complete Edition and in many respects contains significant improvements: they were able to consult the autograph for the first time; the newly set piano score now contains the viola part; and viola players can benefit from fingerings and bowings by Tabea Zimmermann in the solo part.

  • Clarinet Sonata (Viola) f minor op. 120,1
  • Clarinet Sonata (Viola) E flat major op. 120,2
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!