Oxford University Press Breath of Song - Quartel - SATB

  Add to Wish List
SKU: # 747826
Model: #


Your Price: $26.50 CDN


 Add to Cart


10 concert works by women composers for SATB unaccompanied

Editor: Sarah Quartel
Format: Book
Voicing: SATB a cappella

Breath of Song brings together ten exquisite works by contemporary women composers. Compiled and edited by Sarah Quartel, the collection features an eclectic mix of styles and colours, specially selected with modern concert programming in mind -- from settings of hymn-like simplicity and a rich choral sound to works featuring theatrical body percussion and a fresh close-harmony style. Secular and sacred texts from across the centuries are given fresh life, and new words and sounds are introduced to the repertoire, including the onomatopoeic echoes of Hindustani classical instruments in Esmail's 'TaReKiTa' and the whistling of the wind and birds in Hawley's 'The Arrow and the Song'.

Scored for unaccompanied mixed voices, this collection of ten compelling works is fresh, dynamic, and exciting -- a long-awaited celebration of some of today's most inspirational voices in choral composition.

Song List:
  • Sarah Dacey: Love Letter
  • Eleanor Daley: O ye who taste that Love is sweet
  • Reena Esmail: TaReKiTa
  • Laura Hawley: The Arrow and the Song
  • Cecilia McDowall: God be with us
  • Becky McGlade: My beloved spake
  • Jenny Mahler: Snow is Silent
  • Sarah Quartel: The Birds' Lullaby
  • Annabel Rooney: Round me falls the night
  • Joan Szymko: Wake, Love, Wake!
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!