Oxford University Press Popular Voiceworks 2: 28 Songs in Jazz, Gospel, R&B, Soul, and Show Styles - Beale/Milloy - Book/2 CDs

Departments > Print Music > Choral > Choral Resources > Oxford University Press > Popular Voiceworks 2: 28 Songs in Jazz, Gospel, R&B, Soul, and Show Styles - Beale/Milloy - Book/2 CDs
  Add to Wish List
SKU: # 380752
Model: #


Your Price: $94.50 CDN


 Add to Cart


Authors: Charles Beale, Steve Milloy
Format: Book and 2 CDs
Voicing: Choral Voices

Following the outstanding success of book 1, Popular Voiceworks 2 is a second collection of jazzy and popular songs in the highly practical Voiceworks format. Packed with songs in a huge range of styles, the collection provides exciting new material written by the authors as well as choral arrangements of favourites such as 'Ain't no stoppin' us now', 'Feelin' good', and 'Bang the drum all day'. The accompanying CDs include stylish performances of all the songs, together with backings for most. This all adds up to a fabulous resource for all young and young-at-heart singing groups!

  • 28 fabulous songs from unison to four-part harmony
  • Ideal for youth choirs, school groups (11 yrs +), community choirs, and choral groups of all ages and experience
  • Opportunities for improvisation throughout
  • Vast range of repertoire including jazz, R&B, country, funk, spiritual, gospel, disco, rock, show, folk, motown, doo-wop, and more
  • Brand-new songs and new arrangements of popular favourites
  • A complete rehearsal plan for each song, including warm-ups and guidance on vocal techniques for singing popular styles and beatboxing
  • Stylistic but accessible piano accompaniments
  • Photocopiable pages for most pieces
  • Two CDs with performances and stylish backings
  • Extra resources available to download

Born in London and now based in New York, Charles Beale has enjoyed a varied career as a jazz educator, pianist, composer-arranger, and choral director. Author of the acclaimed Jazz Piano from Scratch (ABRSM Publishing), he taught jazz at London's Royal College of Music, and for ten years he was lead jazz consultant to the Associated Board. His playing and arranging work includes credits on albums and singles by pop and dance artists including Whitney Houston and Adeva. He recently became Music Director of the New York City Gay Men's Chorus, having for five years been Musical Director of the London Gay Men's Chorus.

Steve Milloy (b.1965) has spent ten years coaching and directing singers in schools, churches, theatres, and concert stages across the Midwestern US. A former member of the acclaimed a cappella octet Pieces of 8, he has sung in popular styles in theme parks and on TV and radio, and has composed or arranged pieces for more than a dozen GALA choruses in the US and UK. Steve has worked at the keyboard and/or on the podium with choruses and threatre troupes in St Louis, Indianapolis, and Cincinnati, and recently he returned to singing and acting in productions such as The Full Monty and Caroline, or Change.

Table of Contents:
  • Milloy: Goin' up the ladder
  • Anon., arr. Beale: Shallow Brown
  • Trad. African American, arr. Milloy: We shall not be moved
  • Beale: Sing Love
  • Beale: Not when lights are low
  • Milloy: City Lights
  • Milloy: What they say
  • Spiritual, arr. Beale and Milloy: Good news, the chariot's comin'
  • Domino and Bartholomew, arr. Beale: I'm Walkin'
  • Milloy: Harvest Rain
  • Rundgren, arr. Milloy: Bang the Drum All Day
  • Samburski, arr. Beale: Ner Li
  • Milloy: Contagious
  • Trad., arr. Beale: Scarborough Fair
  • Collins Foster, arr. Milloy: Hard times come again no more
  • Isley Bros, arr. Milloy: Fight the Power
  • Milloy: You Got It!
  • Beale: Guiding Light
  • Beale: Gonna make a wish
  • Mulligan, arr. Beale: Blues in B flat
  • Bricusse and Newley, Simone, arr. Beale: Feelin' Good
  • Beethoven, arr. Milloy: Joyful, joyful
  • Beale: Retweet
  • Cohen, McFadden, and Whitehead, arr. Milloy: Ain't no stoppin' us now
  • Hansard and Irglova, arr. Beale: Falling Slowly
  • Beale: Fly
  • Luther Vandross, arr. Milloy: Everybody Rejoice
  • Gore, arr. Beale and Milloy: Here's where I stand
  • Amazing Grace (web download)
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!