Mel Bay Scarlatti and Weiss for Guitar - Afshar - Classical Guitar - Book

Departments > Print > Guitar > Class Guitar Collections/solos > Collection > Mel Bay > Scarlatti and Weiss for Guitar - Afshar - Classical Guitar - Book
  Add to Wish List
SKU: # 490686
Model: #


Your Price: $20.50 CDN


 Add to Cart


Edited/Arranged: Lily Afshar
Format: Book
Instrumentation: Classical Guitar

Born in the Italian city of Naples, Giuseppe Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757) was one of the few Baroque composers to transition into the Classical period. Scarlatti composed operas, cantatas, symphonias and liturgical pieces, but his 555 keyboard sonatas are most well-known; a vast collection of single movements in binary form. Lily Afshar's arrangement of Sonata K. 11 (a favourite of Segovia) utilizes staccato articulation reminiscent of the harpsichord, and other techniques including cross-string trills and minimal slurs. The pair of sonatas work well together, written in E minor and E major.

Sylvius Leopold Weiss (1687-1750) was the most accomplished lutenist of the Baroque period and the most prolific composer of lute music, writing over one thousand pieces for the instrument. The four pieces arranged in this book show the beautiful polyphony and fantastical writing of Weiss. Afshar utilizes campanella (cross-string) fingerings throughout to emphasise the musical line and produce a fuller sound on the instrument.

  • Passacaille (Weiss)
  • Sonata in E Minor K.11 (L. 352) (Scarlatti)
  • Sonata in E Major K. 380 (L. 23) (Scarlatti)
  • Capriccio (Weiss)
  • Ciacona (Weiss)
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!