G. Henle Verlag

Sonata A major - Franck/Jost - Violin/Piano

SKU: # 501015   |   Model: # 51481351   |    Product Reviews0 Reviews  Write a Review

Sonata A major - Franck/Jost - Violin/Piano

Additional Photos:

Sonata A major - Franck/Jost - Violin/Piano
Sonata A major - Franck/Jost - Violin/Piano
Sonata A major - Franck/Jost - Violin/Piano
Your Price: $36.50 CDN

Buy Online

 Add to Cart

Buy In-Store

Composer: Cesar Franck
Editor: Peter Jost
Fingering: Klaus Schilde
Fingering, violin: Daniel Hope, Yehudi Menuhin

Urtext Edition, with marked and unmarked string part

Unlike other late works by Franck, the Violin Sonata of 1886 found a friendly reception among critics and public from the outset. It is dedicated to Eugene Ysaye, who was attracting much attention at the time with his flawless violin technique. Ysaye was so inspired by the Sonata that he promised "I will play this masterpiece wherever I can find an artistically-minded pianist". Nothing has changed to the present day regarding the work's continuing popularity, but it was time to revise Henle's previous edition to reflect the latest research. In the intervening period it has been shown that Franck was actively involved in reading the proofs for the printed edition, meaning that the first edition, which contains many differences from the autograph, has become the basis for this new one. The markings of the violin part of this edition are by Yehudi Menuhin; Daniel Hope has undertaken the changes required by the revised musical text.

Q & A

There are currently no questions for this product.


There are currently no reviews for this product. Be the first to write one!

Great Additions